Vredesduif met olijftak in snavel.

Webinar tegen militarisering

21-5-2017 War Resisters' International organiseert op Hemelvaartsdag een webinar onder de titel "Resisting militarisation in South Korea: Educating for peace and conscientious objection". Er zullen 2 vredesactivisten uit Zuid-Korea aan deelnemen.


Resisting militarisation in South Korea: Educating for peace and conscientious objection


Young people experience the military, and are exposed to militarist values, in different ways around the world. In this webinar, we are focusing on South Korea and discussing with Hanui Choi and Seungho Park, two Seoul based activists, about educating for peace and supporting the rights of young people refusing to serve in the military in South Korea.


Hanui Choi, Coordinator and Peace Education Facilitator at PEACE MOMO, is going to inform us about their ongoing peace education project, and give us a framework of the militarisation of education in South Korea, and the ongoing campaigns to counter it. PEACE MOMO is a Seoul based organization providing peace education programs for teachers, civic educators, and students.


Seungho Park, a conscientious objector and an activist from World without War, is going to inform us about the current status of conscientious objectors in the country and discuss prospects for an improvement in the rights of COs. World without War is a pacifist and antimilitarist organisation campaigning for the rights of conscientious objectors in South Korea since 2003.


Date and time: 25th May, Thursday - 11:00 UTC, 12:00 BST, 13:00 CEST and 20:00 KST See here for your local time: http://www.thetimezoneconverter.com/


More information: http://antimili-youth.net/articles/2017/05/webinar-countering-youth-militarisation-south-korea


Register here: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=ED50D784854B3A


Bron: WRI